The Love of Father God

There is a story I want to share from the scriptures to show us about how much God loves us. It goes like this – there was a very rich father with two sons. His younger son comes to his father and he says “Dad I would like my inheritance, I want to go on my own way.” So his father gives him his inheritance. His father then sees him walking down the road to a foreign land. There, the younger son makes a lot of friends because he has a lot of money. He has lots of parties, and has a great time. Finally, he runs out of money and runs out of friends. There is a famine in the land and there is no work. So he finds himself homeless. Then he walks down to a pig farm on the outskirts of town, and works there for his food. He is eating the corn husks that are fed to the pigs, and is living in the pig barn. One day, he came to his senses, and then he said to himself “What am I doing here? My father is very rich over there and has servants who are better off than me, and more well off than me! So I am going to go back to my father’s house and I am going to ask him if I can get a job as one of his servants.” So this younger son left the pig farm and when he got up the road leading to his dad’s house, his father, who had been looking down out of his house every day for his son, recognized him from a distance, and ran down the driveway to hug and kiss his son, and welcomed him back!!! So the father, so excited, got his servants to bring his younger son in the house and clean him up, put a Robe on him, a Ring on his finger, and Shoes on his feet (this shows the level of love, honor and authority he put on the son! The Grace & Mercy of that Father on his Son!) The father tells the servant, “Go butcher the fatted calf, and get the musical orchestra ready, we are going to have a barbeque and a big welcome party for him, because My Son was Lost and Dead and now He is Alive!!!”

Now, the elder son of this rich Father, was in the fields working when he heard all the party going on. He came in the house and he asked his father “What is going on?” The Dad said “My son was dead, and he is back!!!!” The older son got angry, and said, “What about me? I never did what he did and I worked for you all my life here. You never put on a party for me!” The father said to his eldest son, “You are always with me, and EVERYTHING I have is yours!! But my son was dead and now he is ALIVE!”

When the younger son was coming up the road, and he saw his dad running towards him, he was afraid and probably thought his father was angry with him and would say “What did you do with all your money, what kind of a stunt did you pull on me” and all that, and he would be very angry with him. INSTEAD, the father hugged him and was kissing him, and said “Welcome back, you were LOST & DEAD but now you are ALIVE!!!”

Many of us struggle in our lives with unforgivable issues. But we see here how the great LOVE, MERCY, AND FORGIVENESS OF GOD pardons us, no matter how many times we fail. It is always available to us. He never gives up on us; we are His children forever! That is a perfect demonstration of the love of God for each one of us. It is not that difficult, it is just to ask Him and He will Fly down the Driveway to HUG & KISS us!!! That is God’s Forgiveness & Mercy!

Jesus is always standing at the door knocking. All we have to do is open the door and let Him in!! Remember God loves you very, very much.

Leave a Reply

