Living Water

We as human beings are seeking for love in our relationships.

I want to share about two women who have similar stories:

The first one I was watching on television a while back, where she was talking with a known marriage counsellor. The subject for that day was about this lady who was struggling with her marriage with her fifth husband. She felt she was not successful in life in finding “true love.” So, she was reading books on the subject, attended seminars, and everything. She just could not just get the love and fulfillment she was seeking from her relationships. The counsellor was giving her his usual response on how to fix her marriage – which was steps to do that, steps to do this, more steps here and more steps there. That was his answer to her. (By the way, some of these counselling programs are useful – I am not against them!

But let me tell you about the second woman’s story I want to share – She was presented by Jesus with the answer to her relationship problems and lack of fulfillment. She was The Woman at the Well, in John 4. It is a 2,000 year old story!) And it goes like this:
Jesus was walking through Samaria, He stopped by Jacob’s well for a drink of water. While he was sitting there, this woman came by to get some water from the well. And He asked her for a drink.
“Jesus said to the woman at the well, ‘Everyone who drinks your water from the well will be thirsty again. But whoever drinks the water I give them will never be thirsty again. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’”
“The woman said to him, Sir give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.”

He told her, Go call your husband and come back.

I have no husband she said.

Jesus said to her, you are right when you say you have no husband. The fact is, you have had 5 husbands, and the man you now have is not your husband. What you have said is quite true.
The woman said to Jesus – Sir, I can see that you are a prophet…I know that Messiah is coming. When he comes, he will explain everything to us. Then Jesus declared, I the one speaking to you, I am he.”
So then the woman left her water jar and ran back to her town to tell everyone about Him. They came to see him and Jesus spent two days there. He was explaining that He was the Christ, the Messiah, the Son of God who takes away the sins of the world! Jesus spent two days sharing the Love of God! He shared things like “the Father and I are one, I do what my Father says to do, and When you see me, you have seen the Father!” He said if you believe on me, you have eternal life, because he said, I am the way, the truth and the life!

One of the most difficult things in trying to love others is the self-effort that it takes. And the answer to that is what Jesus said… we cannot love anyone unless we first experience how much God loves us. I John 4:19 “We love each other because He loved us first.”
John 10:10 Jesus said: “…I have come that they may have life, and have it more abundantly!”
The reason Jesus came is not only to give us eternal life, but to have it here more abundantly on earth! Because He said, I am the way, the truth, and the life, which means Life Here, and Life Eternal! He is our Living Water!
So today, whether we are struggling in our relationships, single, married, or otherwise, or feeling unfulfilled and unloved, let us remember this, in our search for love and fulfillment, He is the source of this love we seek – God is love!

Today, as He gently knocks at the door of our heart, let Him in! Enjoy Him, our Loving Living Water! God loves you very, very much,

Leave a Reply

